Small, sensory pleasures

A garden path

Losing yourself in a garden is one of life’s sensory pleasures

One of my favourite writers is the Japanese author, Haruki Murakami. What I most enjoy about his stories are his evocations of the small, sensory pleasures of life.

I wanted to share some of my own everyday sensory experiences. Thinking about them helps me slip into a creative mode of thinking. I’ve also found them useful as a starting point for story mindmaps.

Here then is my short list of small, sensory pleasures. Feel free to share your own in the comments section. I’d also be interested in hearing how you use sensory experiences in your writing.

The plop of a letter falling on other letters in the mailbox
Cutting flowers from the garden and arranging them in jam jars
Spreading icing on a cake
Spreading thick paint on a smooth surface
Shaping potter’s clay
Hand-feeding a horse
A warm hug
Walking barefoot on white sand
Spotting a bird of prey flying high on an air current
The scent of flowers – native orchids are my favourite, with native boronia not far behind
The smell of salt and seaweed wafting off the marshes
Maple syrup dripping onto freshly-cooked pancakes – both the smell and sensation
The smell of freshly-ground coffee
A child giving a shy ‘hello’

